With 13 Berkeley races on the ballot, voters will have plenty of candidates to choose from during the 2022 election. 

You can look up your council district on the city website

Early and mail-in voting starts Oct. 10, and Election Day is Nov. 8. Berkeley residents will pick candidates for four positions on the City Council, the city auditor’s office, three school board positions and five Rent Stabilization Board positions. 

Councilmember Lori Droste’s departure means an open race in District 8. District 1 incumbent Councilmember Rashi Kesarwani faces two challengers as she seeks a second term. Councilmember Kate Harrison will be unopposed in District 4, and Councilmember Rigel Robinson is also running in an uncontested race in District 7. 

Berkeley voters will also have a chance to decide who will take over from Nancy O’Malley as Alameda County District Attorney and vote for candidates vying for seats on the AC Transit and East Bay Municipal Utilities District boards.

State Rep. Buffy Wicks (D-District 14) is running for reelection, challenged by Republican Richard Kinney. U.S. Rep. Barbara Lee (D-District 12) will be challenged by Republican Stephen Slauson.

Here are the city, county and regional candidates who will be on Berkeley ballots on Nov. 8. Stay tuned to Berkeleyside for more election coverage.

City offices

Berkeley City Council, District 1 

Berkeley City Council, District 4

Berkeley City Council, District 7

Berkeley City Council, District 8

  • Peter Bruce DuMont, nonprofit founder
  • Mark Humbert, attorney and former Claremont Elmwood Neighborhood Association president
  • Mari Mendonca, Berkeley Rent Stabilization Board commissioner
  • Mary-Lee Smith, Berkeley Mental Health Board commissioner (dropped out of the race)
  • Jay Wu, insurance agent

Berkeley City Auditor

Berkeley Rent Stabilization Board, five seats, at-large 

Berkeley School Board, three seats, at-large 

  • Ka’Dijah A. Brown, incumbent school board president, sixth grade teacher 
  • Mike Chang, education law attorney and chair of the Police Accountability Board
  • Tatiana Guerreiro Ramos, co-owner of an education company and special education advocate
  • Norma J F Harrison, community advocate with Democratic Socialists of America
  • Reichi Lee, board member at a children’s law office and commissioner on the Peace and Justice Commission
  • Jennifer Shanoski, chemistry professor and president of the Peralta Community Colleges teachers’ union

All terms are for the period Dec. 1, 2022 through Nov. 30, 2026. 

County and regional offices

Alameda County District Attorney

AC Transit Board of Directors, At-Large

East Bay Municipal Utilities District, Ward 4 

  • Andy Katz, incumbent, worker’s rights and environmental attorney

Featured photo: Amir Aziz

Iris Kwok covers the environment for Berkeleyside through a partnership with Report for America. A former music journalist, her work has appeared in the San Francisco Chronicle, KQED, San Francisco Examiner...